top of page
  • klbell21

CCP2

To be honest, I am not the biggest fan of Harry Potter. I have watched a couple of the movies, but growing up with siblings (2 older sisters to be exact) I knew Harry Potter before ever reading a book or watching a movie. J.K Rowling creates words and phrases in her fantasy world that I knew before even watching the movie. So here is a couple words or made up vocabulary that I learned without knowing the book or movies.



First the characters. I knew Harry, Ron, Snape, Dumbledore, and many other characters without even reading the book. There used to be a viral video that went around that had puppets as the characters of Harry Potter singing, and thats where I learned their names and a little but of what they were like.


Next the houses , and the sorting hat. I knew this because my sisters growing up made me take the little quiz on some sketchy website (Because pottermore wasn't a thing). I knew the personality of each house and why sorting in a specific house was significant. I was a Hufflepuff, but now I am more Gryffindor.


Another thing I learned before I knew what Harry Potter was is the word Beater. This was used by my soccer team growing up. In the game of Quiditch the Beater was an enforcer on the field, or in the air in the case of Quiditch.


Along the same lines I knew what the golden snitch was. We used to play this game when I was a younger kind called kick the can. Fun game. Anyway we called the can the golden snitch, because once you kicked it the game was over and won. I actually had no idea why they called in the golden snitch until I saw the movie.


Finally my favorite word. Dementor. I knew what these were because my neighbor growing up would dress up like one every year and scare every kid on the block. I asked him one time what he was and he responded with "Dementor" and I truly thought he just made up something or it was in an adult movie. Come to find out they are part of the Harry Potter series.



4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

CPP5 (plan)

Being a tcom student I feel obligated to make a video. And GUESS WHAT? I will be making a video. More specifically my goal is to make a...

Comentarios


bottom of page